Dr Qibla Ayaz appointed Council of Islamic Ideology chief


Dr Qibla Ayaz was appointed the new chairman of the Council of Islamic Ideology (CII) on Friday.

According to a notification, President Mamnoon Hussain also appointed other members of the council.

They include Qari Abdul Rashid, Ghulam Hussain Sialvi, Peer Roohul Husnain Mueen, Allah Bukhsh Kalyar, Maulana Muhammad Raghib Hussain Naeemi, Allama Arif Hussain Wahidi, Dr Abdul Hakeem Akbari, Sahibzada Sajidur Rehman, Khurshid Nadeem and Hafiz Fazlur Rahim.

Non-Muslims entitled to follow own personal laws: CII

The new council members have been appointed for three years.

Dr Ayaz has served as the vice chancellor of the University of Peshawar and also remained the dean of its Faculty of Islamic and Oriental Studies.

Besides, he has also held of the post Islamia College University Peshawar vice chancellor. He is currently an adjunct professor at the IMSciences, Peshawar.

Dr Ayaz is known for promoting inter-faith and sectarian harmony.

Former CII chief Maulana Muhammad Khan Sherani’s tenure had completed on December 17 last year.

The council provides legal advice to the government on Islamic issues. However, its recommendations are not legally binding.

PHOTO: Express




The post Dr Qibla Ayaz appointed Council of Islamic Ideology chief appeared first on The Express Tribune.

Originally Posted on Tribune


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here