ECP Issues Notice to Imran for violation of Election Rules


Lahore (February 09, 2018): The Election of Commission of Pakistan has sent notice to PTI chairman Imran Khan and PTI candidate in NA-154 Ali Tareen for violation of election code of conduct during public gathering in Lodhran on Friday.

According to details ECP issued notice to Imran Khan and PTI candidate from NA-154 by-poll Ali Tareen for violation of election rules.

The ECP officials brought the notice to Tareen’s home that was received by the Tareen’s employee.

Earlier, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has informed Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairperson Imran Khan not to participate in a rally related to the NA-154 by-poll as it is in violation of rules.Participate in Election Rally is Violation, ECP Informs ImranDistrict Returning Officer Hammad Ijaz wrote to the PTI chief directing him not to take part in today’s rally citing a Dec 20, 2017 order and its own code of conduct which bars lawmakers and ministers from visiting a constituency after issuance of the by-election schedule.

“ECP expects political parties, their leadership and candidates to comply with the code of conduct to increase public support for fair and transparent elections,” the notice reads.Moreover, it advises Imran to abide by the code of conduct in letter and spirit.

PTI leaders, including Imran, are already present at the venue on Multan-Bahawalpur Road where party supporters have already begun to gather.

Earlier, Election Commission of Pakistan released the polling scheme for by election in NA-154 Lodhran on Friday.

According to the polling scheme, 328 polling stations and 1043 polling booths have been established in the constituency.ECP Releases Polling Scheme For By-Election in NA-154Approximately 431ooo voters are in this constituency, in which more than 23600 are men and 19400 are women.

338 presiding, 1043 asst. presiding and 20474 polling officers have been assigned for election duties.

Total 10 candidates are participating in this by election. M.Iqbal of PML(N), Ali Tareen of PTI, Mirza M. Ali Baig of PP(Parliamentary) will be contest the elections, while polling will be held on 12 February.

This by election is taking place after disqualification of Jahangir Tareen from the same constituency.

The seat was vacated after PTI Secretary General Jahangir Tareen was disqualified by the Supreme Court in December 2017 for not being ‘honest’ and ‘truthful’ as per Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution.

Ten candidates will contest the NA-154 by-poll, out of the which seven are independent.

From PTI, Jahangir’s son Ali will be contesting the by-poll while Iqbal Shah from Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Ali Beg from Pakistan Peoples Party will be the other main contenders.

Originally Posted on Abbtak TV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here