Farooq Sattar nominates Kamran Tessori for Senate election


KARACHI: Kamran Tessori is our first choice for the general seat in the Senate elections, said MQM-Pakistan chief Farooq Sattar while addressing a press conference on Thursday.

He added that the nomination papers of all the candidates, who also include Farhan Chishti, Ahmed Chinoy and Hasan Feroz, Qamar Mansoor, Ali Raza Abidi and Shahid Pasha, have been prepared. He added that Mangla Sharma is being nominated for contesting the election on women’s seat.

According to him, efforts are being made to improve the situation. He added that he has told Amir Khan to submit papers for the candidates chosen by the Rabita Committee. Four names will be finalized later, he said.

Rabita Committee’s decision

Meanwhile, Nasreen Jalil held a simultaneous press conference and announced the names that the Rabita Committee has finalized for contesting the Senate elections. She maintained that they do not want any rift and are trying not to let the party divide into factions. The names that the Rabita Committee has finalized include Nasreen Jalil, Farogh Naseem, Amir Chishti, Qadir Khanzada, Kishvar Zehra and Aminul Haq.

“Rabita Committee has time to decide which names we will withdraw,” she said. “Perhaps my name will be withdrawn. Right now, we are going to submit the nomination papers.”

Responding to a question, she said the Rabita Committee is waiting for party head Farooq Sattar to come to the party office in Bahadurabad.

A deadlock has persisted between the Rabita Committee and Farooq Sattar on the issuance of Senate election ticket to Kamran Tessori.

Email This Post

Story first published: 8th February 2018

Originally Posted on SamaaNews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here