Four New Ministers Take Oath, Number Reaches to 47


Islamabad (August 10, 2017): Four new ministers took oath at the President House on Thursday, bringing the number of members of the federal cabinet to 47.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered oath to the new ministers in the presence of Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video

[embedded content]

Daniyal Aziz from Narowal and Mumtaz Ahmed Tarar from Mandi Bahauddin were sworn in as federal ministers while Syed Ayaz Ali Sherazi from Thatta and Mir Dostain Khan Domki from Balochistan took oath as ministers of state.

Aziz has been appointed as Minister of Privatisation, while Tarar has been sworn in as Minister for Human Rights.

On August 4, the president had administered oath to 43 ministers, including Khawaja Asif, Ahsan Iqbal, Talal Chaudhry, Saad Rafique and Maryam Aurangzeb, among others.

The names for ministers of the new federal cabinet were finalised after days of discussion between the PML-N leadership.The federal cabinet was dissolved after Nawaz Sharif was disqualified by the Supreme Court in a landmark ruling on the Panama Papers case in July. He was succeeded by Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, who was Minister of Petroleum in Sharif’s cabinet.

Abbasi was elected by the MNAs on August 1 and took oath on the same day.

In his maiden speech to the National Assembly following his election, Abbasi put forward his vision to improve the socio-economic conditions and security situation in the country, showing that he has some personal ambitions apart from PML-N’s guidelines.

He had directed federal ministers and state ministers to “work diligently and complete all ongoing projects on top-priority with utmost transparency and quality of works.”

Related News:

46 Members Federal Cabinet Sworn In

PM Abbasi’s Federal Cabinet Finalized as Ch Nisar Left Out

Originally Posted on Abbtak TV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here