The photo-sharing app is currently testing the feature which will be officially released once it is finalised. Users who took part in the testing were notified through alerts whenever someone tried to take screenshot of their story, as reported by TechCrunch.
A warning pops up when people try to take screenshot that says “Next time, you take a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see”.
Also, when those in the testing phase took screenshot of other person’s story then the latter were alerted. Those who post story will not get alert, but it will appear in the list of viewers whether anyone tried to take screengrab.
Earlier, Instagram gave notification when someone took screenshot of private direct message. There were no notifications upon taking screenshot of photo or story.