Live Updates: PSL 3 Draft underway in Lahore


LAHORE: The drafting of players taking part in the third edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) is underway in Lahore, Samaa reported.

Kicking off the draft, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Najam Sethi welcomed Multan Sultans to the PSL franchise.

Sethi hoped that Multan the new entrants will perform well under the leadership of Wasim Akram.

He added that Lahore Qalandars will also light up the stage with its performance. Praising Karachi Kings, he said that the team really are “Kings” of the league.

“I salute the patriotism of Peshawar Zalmi,” he said.

The PCB Chairman said that Islamabad United can emerge as champions once again.

“Hope Karachi stages a festival of cricket this year. The National Stadium will be prepared before the PSL final next year,” Sethi said.

He confirmed that PSL 3 final will be contested and international cricket will return to Pakistan.

Ahmad Shehzad was picked by Multan Sultans from the gold category.

Lahore Qalandars chose Bilal Asif from the gold category.

Rahat Ali was the gold pick for Quetta Gladiators.

Peshawar Zalmi went for Hammad Azam as their gold pick.

Fahim Ashraf was selected as the gold pick by Islamabad United.

The first pick of the gold category and Karachi Kings have selected Luke Wright

Darren Bravo was picked from the diamond category by Multan Sultans

Tamim Iqbal was selected a diamond pick by Peshawar Zalmi

Carlos Braithwaite was the diamond pick for Quetta Gladiators.

Pacer Mitchell Johnson was selected by Karachi Kings in the diamond category

Islamabad United picked Luke Ronchi in the diamond category.

Lahore Qalandars went for Mustafizur Rahaman as their pick in the diamond category.

Multan Sultans picked Imran Tahir in the platinum category.

Dwayne Bravo was chosen by Peshawar Zalmi in the platinum category.

Shane Watson was picked by Quetta Gladiators in the platinum category.

Karachi Kings chose Colin Ingram in as their platinum category.

Islamabad United picked JP Duminy in their platinum Category pick

Lahore Qalandars chose Chris Lynn from the platinum category.

Multan Sulans have named Shoaib Malik as their captain for this year’s edition.

Teams have already signed up for nine players each and a further of 501 cricketers will be a part of the PSL Draft.

The likes of Adil Rashid, Angelo Mathews, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle,Chris Lynn, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Dwayne Bravo, Imran Tahir, Jimmy Neesham, JP Duminy, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shane Watson, Thisara Perera and Wayne Parnell are all part of this Draft among overseas players.

Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Luke Ronchi (New Zealand), Colin Munro (New Zealand), Jason Holder (West Indies), Darren Bravo (West Indies), Evin Lewis (West Indies), Lendl Simmons (West Indies), James Vince (England), Tim Bresnan (England), Adil Rashid (England), John Hastings (Australia), Mitchell Johnson (Australia), Chris Lynn (Australia), Wayne Parnell (South Africa), Albie Morkel (South Africa), JP Duminy (South Africa), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka) and Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) are the new players expected to play in this year’s edition.

Quetta Gladiatiors have retained Sarfraz Ahmed, Kevin Pietersen, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Mahmudullah, Umar Amin, Mir Hamza, Asad Shafiq while Islamabad United have retained Mohammad Sami, Andre Russell, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Samuel Badree, Iftikhar Ahmed, Amad Butt, Asif Ali.

Umar Akmal, Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Fakhar Zaman, Yasir Shah, Cameron Delport, Aamer Yamin and Bilawal Bhatti are the retained players for Lahore Qalanders while Karach Kings retained Usman Khan, Usama Mir, Khurram Manzoor, Ravi Bopara, Imad Wasim, Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir for PSL 3.

Peshawar Zalmi retained Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz, Shakib al Hasan, Kamran Akmal, Darren Sammy, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail, Chris Jordan, Mohammad Asghar for this year’s edition.

The first round of the Draft will be for the Platinum Players followed by Diamond Players in the second round. The players in Gold Category will be drafted in the third round while players in the silver group will be drafted in the fourth and fifth rounds. Emerging players will be drafted into the franchises in the sixth and seventh round. The next four rounds will be for the drafting of Supplementary players.

Lahore Qalandars will be allowed the first pick. This will be followed by Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi and Multan Sultans. Trades could be allowed and as a result, the order could be changed.

Total purse of USD 1.2 million for each team to pick maximum of 20 players in the squad.

Platinum category players will earn anywhere between $140,000 and $200,000 while Diamond category players have a minimum price of $70,000 attached with them. Gold category players will be signed up for a minimum of $50,000.

The Silver category players have a minimum cap of $22,000 whereas the emerging category players could get at least $10,000.

According to PSL statement, Karachi Kings won’t be picking in the first round of the Emerging Round and will bring in a player at the end of their talent hunt program.

The retention and trading window for the 2018 Pakistan Super League opened on July 12 and teams were given an option of retaining up to nine players in the team. Teams are also now allowed to sign up new players directly. All new players must enter the players draft to get picked.

So the five teams from the previous two seasons were allowed to retain two players each from the Platinum, Diamond, Gold and Silver category, and 1 from the Emerging category to make it nine retained players at the maximum.

The sixth and the newest side in the competition, the Multan Sultans were allowed to pick nine players from each of the five categories in the pre-draft. What this means is that they will only have the right to those players which the first five teams do not retain in their squads.
Email This Post

Story first published: 12th November 2017

Originally Posted on SamaaNews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here