ISLAMABAD: The lower house of the parliament on Tuesday approved the army act amendment bill 2020 with a majority of votes.

The  National Assembly (NA) passed  the three amendment bills  regarding the tenure of the serving chiefs of the armed forces as Speaker the NA Asad Qaiser presided the session while Prime Minister Imran Khan was in attendance.

The bill now will be presented in the upper house of the parliament, Senate today.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) withdrew its three suggestions regarding the army act amendment bill on the appeal of Defense Minister Pervez Khattak.

The members of Jamiat Ulma-e-Islam Fazal (JUI-F), Jamat-e-Islami (JI) and Fata boycotted the session at the time of voting.

All the three bill regarding tenure of Army, Air-Force and Naval Chiefs were approved separately.

After approval of the Army act amendment bill 2020 the NA session was adjourned till tomorrow evening.

Earlier, the National Assembly’s Standing Committee on Defence had unanimously approved the three amendment bills on Monday.

“The amendments were passed unanimously by the body. I congratulate the entire country and the opposition parties,” the Defence Minister Pervez Khattak said, adding that these bills will now be put up for voting in the NA today.

Responding to a journalist’s question, Khattak said all political parties were on the same page regarding the matter.

Prime Minister Imran Khan has summoned the parliamentary party meeting of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and its allied parties today.

Originally Posted on Abbtak TV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.