NA speaker clears nomination papers of six PM candidates


Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq Monday accepted the nomination papers of all six candidates including Muslim League (Nawaz) (PML-N) candidate Shahid Khaqan Abbasi after scrutiny.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz sole candidate for the office of Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah, Syed Naveed Qamar (PPPP), Sheikh RashId Ahmed (PTI-PML-Q), Sahibzada Tariqullah (JI) and Kishwar Zehra (MQM) contesting for the slot of Prime Minister.

Time for filing of nomination papers was 1400 hours Monday. Speaker scrutinised the papers and at 1500 hours and accepted all papers.

Meanwhile, talking to the media persons at the parliament house, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi said that he will take forward the development agenda of the party.

He said the country is facing many challenges and their efforts will be aimed at steering the country out of them.

Meanwhile, leaders from different political parties expressed hope to bring a consensus candidate for the office of the Prime Minister.

PML-Q leader Chaudhry Pervez Ilahi told that Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed is consensus candidate of our party and the PTI. “However, the opposition parties are negotiating to reach a consensus.”

Jamat-e-Islami’s Sahibzada Tariqullah said Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah can be a consensus candidate. However, consultation still continues and we hope for an overall consensus.

Meanwhile, for the PML-N candidate the proposers are Shehzadi Umarzadi Tawana, Rana Qasim Noon, Ayaz Shah Sherazi,Arshad Khan Leghari, Junaid Anwar Chaudhry and Rana Hayat Khan.

Seconders in these nomination papers are Saira Afzal Tarar, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Sardar Muhammad Yousaf, Ghalib Khan and Khawaja Muhammad Asif.

Ejaz Khan Jakhrani proposing Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah and Nawab Ali Wassan seconding him; Shahida Rehmani proposing Syed Naveed Qamar and Musarrat Rafiq Mahesay seconding him.

In other two nomination papers filed Opposition-Papers MNA Shah Mahmood Qureshi proposed Sheikh RashId Ahmed as PTI backed candidate for the office of the Prime Minister whose seconder is Tariq Basher Cheema, while MNAs Sheikh Salahuddin and Sohail Mansoor proposed and seconded Shahida Rehmani of MQM and Ayesha Syed and Sahibzada Yaqoob Khan proposed and seconded JI candidate Sahibzada Tariqullah.  – APP
Email This Post

Story first published: 31st July 2017

Originally Posted on SamaaNews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here