NA to Elect New PM on August 1


Islamabad (July 30, 2017): The Lower House, that is the National Assembly will elect a new prime minister at 3 p.m. on Tuesday  August 1. According to Assembly rules nomination papers of the candidate would have to be submitted to Speaker National Assembly a day prior to the election by the candidate himself of by the proposer or  the endorser. After the verification of nominations papers the electoral process to select the Leader of the House will be initiated under Rules No. 32 and 33.

The viting will be held in the basis of Division under whcih two lobbies will be dedicated for polling at the Assembly. The members will proceed to two different lobbies to cast vote for their candidate where the staff of the Assembly will register their names.

Click Play Button To Watch This Video.

[embedded content]

Once the polling ends there will be counting of votes after which the the name of the candidate who secured votes will be announced along with number of votes he secured. The candidate securing most votes will be declared the Leader of the House and the the next prime minister of the country.

It may be mentioned here that a candidate has o secure at least 172 votes in the 342-member House to get elected Leader of the House. In case the number of candidates is two or more and if for argument’s sake none of the candidates manage to secure the desired 172 votesa re-election will be held only between the two candidates who bagged most votes and the one securing most votes will be elected. Even then if both the candidates managed to secure same number of votes Speaker’s vote will play the decisive role.

According to the National Assembly Secretariat in the 342-seat National Assembly Pakistan Muslim League (N)  leads the party position with 188 seats, Pakistan Peoples Party is second with 47 seats while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf is third with 33 seats. Muthahida Quami Movement has 24 seats, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam 13 seats, Muslim League Functional has five seats while Pakhtwankhwa Milli Party, National Peoples Party, Muslim League (Q), and ANP have two seats each.

Muslim League Zia, National Party, Awami Jamhoori Ittehad, All Pakistan Muslim League, Quami Watan Party, Awami Muslim League, and Balochistan National Party have one seat each in the National Assembly.

According to National Assembly Secretariat the number of independent candidates totals nine.

Related News:

President Summons NA Session on Tuesday

NA Secretariat Issues Election Schedule for PM slot

Originally Posted on Abbtak TV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here