Nawaz Sharif, Jehangir Tareen disqualified for life


ISLAMABAD: Nawaz Sharif, Jehangir Tareen have been disqualified for life.

Justice Umar Ata Bandial read the unanimous verdict issued by a five-member bench of Supreme Court regarding the period of disqualification under Article-62-1F of the Constitution on Friday.

A four-member larger bench headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Mian Saqib Nisar announced the ruling on several identical petitions to stipulate the timeframe for which a lawmaker would stand disqualified in the wake of violation under Article-62-1F of the constitution.

The Supreme Court judges remarked that public representatives should be truthful.

Article 62-1f is the same under which former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and PTI leader Jehangir Tareen were disqualified by the apex court.

Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed, Justice Umar Ata Bandial, Justice Ijazul Ahsan, Justice Faisal Arab and Justice Sajjad Ali Shah had reserved the verdict on February 14 this year.

Appearing before the apex court in the last hearing on February 14, Attorney General Ashtar Ausaf Ali said the constitution needs to be amended to specify duration of disqualification of any member of the Parliament who was found to have been guilty.

He wondered if the disqualification of the lawmakers will continue even after the death, as no limit of time has been set in the law.

The court said that the 18th Amendment passed in 2010, does not spell out any time period for disqualification; hence, the duration for disqualification will continue for as long as the declaration holds.

Story first published: 13th April 2018

Originally Posted on SamaaNews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here