PPP To Issue Show Cause To Absent Senators


Islamabad (September 26, 2017): The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has decided to issue show cause notice to the senators who have been abstained themselves during the voting for electoral bill 2017.

According to the details, PPP will issue show cause notices to senator Saifullah Bangish, Usman Saifullah and Rehman Malik for their absent from voting process of electoral reform bill 2017.On September 22, The Senate passed the amended Election Bill 2017 amid a walkout by Senate Chairman Raza Rabbani. The passage of electoral bill 2017 has paved the way for the ousted prime minister Nawaz Sharif to lead the party again that he had lost after his disqualification by the supreme court.

A day earlier, The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) and MQM taken the strict action against party senators, who voted in favour of electoral bill violating the party discipline, and have issued disciplinary notices to them.

MQM has revoked the basic party membership of its senator Mian Attique, who voted in favour of electoral bill. MQM has asked him why he had voted for PML-N violating party discipline, however he could not satisfactory reply.On the other hand PTI has also issued show cause notices to its senators- Numan wazir and Kenth William- for abstaining themselves from voting.

In show cause notice, issued by the vice president Shah Mehmood Qureshi on directive of PTI chairman Imran Khan, asked them to respond in seven days why they voted in favour of electoral bill by violating party discipline.

Related News: 

Electoral Bill: Senate Paves Way for Nawaz Sharif to Lead Party

Originally Posted on Abbtak TV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here