President Appoints Qibla Ayaz CII Chairman


Islamabad (November 4, 2017): Doctor Qibla Ayaz has been appointed as the new chairman of the Council of Islamic Ideology (CII) on Friday.

According to a notification, President Mamnoon Hussain also appointed other members of the council.

They include Qari Abdul Rashid, Ghulam Hussain Sialvi, Peer Roohul Husnain Mueen, Allah Bukhsh Kalyar, Maulana Muhammad Raghib Hussain Naeemi, Allama Arif Hussain Wahidi, Dr Abdul Hakeem Akbari, Sahibzada Sajidur Rehman, Khurshid Nadeem and Hafiz Fazlur Rahim.

The new council members have been appointed for three years. Dr Ayaz has served as the vice chancellor of the University of Peshawar and also remained the dean of its Faculty of Islamic and Oriental Studies.

He had been the vice chancellor Islamia College University Peshawar. He is currently an adjunct professor at the IM Sciences, Peshawar. Dr Ayaz is known for promoting inter-faith and sectarian harmony. Former CII chief Maulana Muhammad Khan Sherani’s tenure had completed on December 17 last year.

Related News:

Council of Islamic Ideology rejects Women Protection bill

PPP demand to dissolve Council of Islamic Ideology

Originally Posted on Abbtak TV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here