PSL 4: United’s Musa, Sami script 12 runs victory

Musa picked three wickets for 23 runs in the game against Peshawar Zalmi.
The Islamabad United’s eighteen-year-old Muhammad Musa vindicated himself as the X factor in the match against Peshawar Zalmi as with his sensational three-for-23 runs spell scripted 12 runs win at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Musa halted the building momentum of Peshawar Zalmi after taking back-to-back wickets of opener Kamran Akmal and David Malan in the first powerplay of the game.

Faheem Ashraf extended the pressure on Zalmi by taking out the wicket of Imamul Haq. He picked two wickets in the game.

The game was dramatically shifted in Zalmi’s favour courtesy strong hitting by skipper Sammy and Pollard – however, the onslaught was stopped after a while with all credit to Faheem Ashraf and Musa.

Pollard scored 51 off 22 with three fours and five sixes on 231.81 strike rate.

First Innings

Middle-order batsman Ian Bell with his half-century powered Islamabad United to 158 runs against Peshawar Zalmi in the second match of the day.

Sameen Gul took three wickets, Hasan Ali two, while Umaid Asif, Pollard and Wahab Riaz took one each.

Riding on a high from last night’s win against Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi will look to continue their momentum against Islamabad United.

Despite Zalmi kicking off their PSL campaign with a six-wicket loss to Quetta, the “Yellow Storm” turned things around for themselves beating Lahore Qalandars comprehensively by seven wickets. They then defeated Karachi Kings in a thrilling encounter by 44 runs to solidify their position.

United, who started off the tournament with a win against Lahore Qalandars, stumbled and lost their next game to Multan Sultans by five wickets and then to Quetta by seven wickets.


Islamabad United: Luke Ronchi, Sahibzada Farhan, Ian Bell, Cameron Delport, Hussain Talat, Asif Ali, Samit Patel, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Musa.

Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal, Imam ul Haq, Umar Amin, Dawid Malan, Kieron Pollard, Liam Dawson, Darren Sammy, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Umaid Asif, Sameen Gul Afridi.


Originally Posted on SuchTv


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.