Photo: Reuters

Rohit Sharma scored an unbeaten century as India beat England by seven wickets and win the Twenty20 International series 2-1 on Sunday.

England, invited to take guard, scored 198/9 in their 20 overs with Jason Roy top scoring with 67 runs from 31 with the help of four boundaries and seven sixes.

Jason Roy and Jos Buttler provided the solid start for the 2010 World T20 champions as they put up an opening stand of 94 runs.

The English side could not get going following the dismissal of Buttler, who made 34 runs for the team. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

Alex Hales made 30 runs while Jonny Bairstow contributed 25 runs for the team.

Hardik Pandya was the pick of the bowlers for India as he picked up four wickets while conceding 38 runs in his four overs. Siddharth Kaul took two wickets.

India, chasing the target of 199 runs in 20 overs, lost their first wicket with 21 runs on the board as Shikhar Dhawan was dismissed after scoring just five runs for the team.

The side were reduced to 62/2 as Lokesh Raul went back to the pavilion after scoring 19 runs from 10 deliveries.

Veterans Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli took the side home with their 89-run partnership. The Indian opener also put up a 50-run stand with Hardik Pandya to seal the victory.

Sharma remained unbeaten at 100 runs from 56 balls while Kohli made 43 runs from 29 balls. Pandya contributed 33 runs with the bat.

Originally Posted on SamaaNews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.