Voting for New PM underway in National Assembly  


Islamabad (August 1, 2017): The voting process for the new Prime Minister has been started in National Assembly during special session which was  called by President to elect new  leader of the house following the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif.

The session has been called by President Mamnoon Hussain with a one-point agenda to elect a new Prime Minister or leader of the house .

Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq is presiding over the session of the house.

PML-N has fielded Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, the former petroleum minister, as its candidate for prime minister and with the virtue of its comfortable majority, Abbasi is certain to be elected as new Prime Minister.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) has also announced to withdraw its candidate Kishwar Zehra in favour of the PML-N nominee Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

MQM leader Dr Farooq Sattar announced the party’s decision in a joint press conference after a meeting with PML-N leaders in the federal capital on Tuesday.

PPP  has fielded Naveed Qamar as its candidate while Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed has been nominated by PTI as its nominee. Sahibzada Tariqullah of Jamaat-e-Islami is also in the fray.

Related News: 

Nisar Rejects Reports About his Meeting with Imran as Baseless

PM’s Election: PPP Fields Naveed Qamar as its Candidate

Originally Posted on Abbtak TV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here